Quorn Steak and Mushroom Stroganoff

I often make mushroom stroganoff using a selection of different varieties of mushroom, but I thought I’d add some frozen Quorn Steak pieces to make it a bit different.  This was my first time using Quorn steak pieces. I have to admit they’d been languishing in the freezer for a while as I wasn’t sure that I would like them but I thought they made a good addition to this dish and I will be looking for other recipes to use them in.  I would say they didn’t have a strong flavour, which for me was a plus point.

Quorn and Mushroom Stroganoff

Quorn Steak and Mushroom Stroganoff (Serves 4)

One white onion
A small amount of butter for frying the onion
350g packet frozen Quorn Steak Style Pieces
250g closed cup mushrooms, cleaned and thickly sliced
250g chestnut mushroom, cleaned and thickly sliced
2 heaped tablespoon wholegrain mustard
250g tub Creme Fraiche or 300ml double cream
Splash of white wine (optional)
Chopped Parsley to sprinkle on before serving

1. Finely chop the onion and cook slowly in the butter until soft and translucent.  Add the mushrooms and cook for 2 minutes.

2. Add the Quorn steak style pieces and keep stirring while the mixture cooks for a further 5 minutes or until the steak pieces are fully cooked through.

3. To make the sauce, add the the cream, mustard and the white wine (if you’re using it) to the pan and stir well to combine.

4. Heat the sauce and simmer gently for  3 minutes.

Serve with rice.

Stroganoff can be made with paprika instead of the whole grain mustard, but this is the go-to recipe in our house, inspired by a Steak Stroganoff I saw Phillippa James cook at a demonstration.

Leave a Reply

