Leek and Potato Casserole

I decided to treat myself to a casserole dish, mainly because I thought it was beautiful, not becuase I cook many casseroles!  I always felt that a casserole dish wasn’t really a key piece of equipment in a vegetarian kitchen, particularly as I associated casserole dishes with recipes that took a long time to cook.

I did like having a great big pot full of food and I’ll be looking out for other recipes.

This is more of a construction suggestion than a recipe.

Leek and Potato Casserole

Leek and potato casserole

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  • Peel and slice 4 potatoes thinly.  I used a mandoline.
  • Wash and chop 1 large leek into 50mm slices.
  • Drain and rinse one tin of butterbeans and one tin of sweetcorn.
  • Prepare 500ml vegetable stock.  I used a stock cube.  Stir in 2 heaped teaspoons of wholegrain mustard.
  • Construct the casserole by layering up the potatoes, then a layer of the vegetables, then more potatoes.  After a few layerspour over a covering of the stock.  Keep repeating until you end with a layer of potatoes.  Dot the potatoes on the top with a little butter.
  • Bake for 25 minutes until the potatoes are soft.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

