Carrot, sage and honey soup

I’ve posted a surprising number of soup recipes on this blog, considering I rarely look at recipes for soups in cookery books. For me, soups are primarily for making something delicious out of ingredients that I have left in the kitchen. It’s not often that I would go out specifically to buy ingredients to create a soup. (Having said that, I heartily recommend the book ‘A Soup for Everyday’ by the New Covent Garden Soup company, as a great source of inspiration for using up leftover veg!)

I want to record this recipe as it was delicious and includes ingredients that I usually have in my kitchen. I made my soup in a Morphy Richards Soup Maker, but you could easily adapt this recipe if you are making the soup in a pan.

image

Carrot, Sage and Honey soup (serves 4)

5 carrots, peeled and chopped
2 potatoes, peeled and chopped
2 onions, peeled and cut into chunks
1 stick of celery, cut into chunks
750ml vegetable stock
5 sage leaves
1 tbsp dried sage
1 heaped tablespoon honey

  1. If using a soup maker, add the vegetables and stock to the machine and turn it on to do it’s thing. I use the smooth blend option.
  2. At the end of the cooking time, stir in the sage and the honey.
  3. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

