Marshmallows and Movies

The challenge for today’s post was to write about some of my favourite films. My list would include Strictly Ballroom, Big Fish, Edward Scissorhands, Notting Hill, Clueless, The Little Mermaid, Heathers, Forrest Gump, The Notebook, Mulan, Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion, Muriel’s Wedding and The Help. And when watching movies I like to have something yummy to snack on …

One of my missions when I began this blog was to master vegetarian marshmallows.  I’m still working on that aim!  In the meantime, I though I’d check out some mixes that are available, the first one being Ananda’s Vegan Marshmallows.

The box contains two sets of mixture.

I used one packet and made around 75 marshmallows.  I kept some white and used food colouring to turn some pink.Ananda's vegan marshmallows

The marshmallows were very soft and squidgy.  They improved in texture after a few days when they developed more of a crust.

So, once I had them I needed to use them to indulge in all the desserts I’d been missing out on.

I wanted to make Smores, (which are melted marshmallows, usually grilled over a fire or BBQ, squidged between two chocolate digestive biscuits – chocolate side in).  Unfortunately I found the marshmallows were too soft to stay on a skewer long enough to toast them – they just fell off.

Smores

I had similar issues when making Rocky Road, particularly as the marshmallows melted into the chocolate.

Rocky Road

Where they did come into their own was in making Marshmallow Toffee Bars, which I haven’t had since junior school.  Eating these made me very happy! I used this recipe.

Overall, I was impressed with the mixture and would purchase it again.  Based on the FAQ’s on the site, I’m going to try heating the syrup for longer and hopefully my next batch will be a little firmer.

Marshmallow Toffee Bars

Marshmallow Toffee Bar

 

Leave a Reply

