Holidays

The challenge for today is to write about your next holiday. I’m very excited about this as I’ve only just booked it. I’m going to Menorca in October. It will be my first visit to the island and it looks lovely. I’ve been having a look at some of the food options and learnt that Mahon in Menorca is often named as the place mayonnaise originates from. (I’ve never made mayonnaise from scratch so maybe this is something to challenge myself to do before I go.) The island also has lots of gin producers and gin factory tours are popular.

IMAG1029

Today I made a Red Velvet cake for the local Clandestine Cake Club meeting. Tomorrow the holiday healthy eating plan needs to start!

Meringue Icing

3 large egg whites
250g caster sugar

1. Rest a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water. Add the egg whites and the sugar to the bowl and stir until the sugar is completely dissolved. It’s important to make sure the sugar is completely dissolved or the finished icing will be gritty.

2. Once the mixture is completely smooth, it needs whisking up, ideally with a handheld mixer, or you can transfer it to a stand mixer. It will take at least 5 minutes to whisk it not stiff peaks. The icing can then be used to fill the cake layers and can be piped onto the top to decorate.

Leave a Reply

