A day in the life

I woke up at 6.40am and spent some time relaxing in bed, responding to emails. I’ve been researching Inbox Zero and I’m trying to be more efficient in dealing with my emails. I’m learning Spanish so I also did a bit of language practice on my iPad.

image

I had yoghurt with peaches and raspberries and a coffee for breakfast and then walked to work. It was a lovely sunny morning. I try to listen to an audiobook while I’m walking and at the moment I’m listening to ‘After You’ by Jojo Moyes. I download my audiobooks from my local public library and would really recommend this if it’s available in your area.

image

My work day involved a meeting in the morning and a training session in the afternoon. I grabbed a quick salad for lunch.

For dinner I made Parsnip Carbonara and watched Tattoo Fixers.

image

We let our pet rabbits have a play out and I spent some time working on my latest scrapbook page. The last port of call today will be the quiz at our local pub.

image

Parsnip Carbonara (Serves 2)

1 parsnip
1 heaped tablespoon crème fraîche
1 garlic clove
200g spaghetti
Grated vegetarian Parmesan style cheese to serve

1. Preheat the oven to 200°C.

2. Peel the parsnip. Use the peeler to make around 15 thin parsnip strips. Put these on a baking tray and brush with a thin layer of olive oil, or spray with a cooking spray. Put the tray in the oven and allow the strips to crisp up. You’ll need to keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn.

3. Chop the remaining parsnip into small pieces and cook for 8-10 minutes in a pan of boiling water.

4. Put the spaghetti on to cook in another pan.

5. Drain the parsnips once cooked, reserving 100ml of the cooking liquid. Allow the parsnips to cools slightly.

6. Blitz the parsnip pieces and the cooking liquid in a blender until you get a smooth purée. Mix in 1 crushed garlic clove and the crème fraîche.

7. Once the pasta is cooked, drain it and mix the parsnip sauce into the pasta. If you want to add vegetarian Parmesan style cheese, you can add it in here. Before serving, sprinkle the crispy oven cooked parsnip over the top.

This dish was inspired by a recipe in Asda Good Living magazine but I’ve adapted it to make it vegetarian.

 

Leave a Reply

