Mexican seasoning mix

I’ve been for a sparkling afternoon tea today and I’m so full up that I haven’t wanted anything else to eat, so my plans to blog my evening meal have gone out of the window! Today’s challenge for Blog Everyday in September was to share your camera equipment. Unfortunately, as anyone who sees my blog will find easy to spot, most pictures are hurriedly taken with my phone or tablet. The photography on my blog is definitely something I need to work on!

For today’s post, I am therefore going to share something I’ve just started making; my own Mexican spice mix, meant to replicate the fajita seasoning mixes that I used to buy in packets. Purchasing it is no longer an option for us as they contain ingredients that my husband is allergic to. Making my own means I can control what goes in, and it’s also nice to use up spices already in my cupboard.

image

Mexican seasoning mix

2 tbsp chilli powder
½ tsp onion powder
½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp dried oregano
1 ½ tsp smoked paprika
½ tsp chilli flakes
2 tsp ground cumin
A pinch of salt and pepper

Mix all the spices together well to combine and store in a jar.

Leave a Reply

