Harissa style spice blend

Snapseed

I already have an overflowing herb and spice cupboard, so I’m usually reluctant to add new jars if I think I can recreate the flavours using things I’ve already got. This is my attempt at a Harissa style spice mix. The picture shows the layers of ingredients and makes me smile as it reminds me of a childhood holiday to the Isle of White where my sister and I made souvenirs by layering the 7 different coloured sands in various glass containers. Before using, the layers will need muddling together by stirring, shaking, or ideally grinding in a pestle and mortar. Harissa paste is made with red peppers but I had to substitute that for dried tomato powder as that was what I had in the cupboard!

4 tsp dried tomato powder
2 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp dried coriander
2 tsp cumin seeds
2 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp garlic powder
4 tsp chilli flakes
Pinch of salt, pepper and dried mint

Stir all the ingredients together.

This is great used as a flavouring for roasted potatoes.

IMG_0905

 

Leave a Reply

